Top 10 Image Review – “Be Still My Soul”

Top 10 Image Review- “Be Still My Soul”

EE2_2039elow

Be Still My Soul

This image from Mono Lake is in my Top 10 for a few reasons. Mono Lake is an extremely popular location, even a destination for photographers and birdwatchers. It is a large lake on the east side of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, just outside of Yosemite National Park. I was lucky to be there before  Tioga Pass opened for the year and the area was MUCH less crowded! This is also an important place for birds as they migrate but that is for someone else to discuss.

Mono Lake is unique because of the strange rock formations, called Tufas, that rise from the lake. They make fantastic subjects to photograph and there are so many of them to explore. This coupled with great light and a rugged background of the Sierra Nevada’s and you have an incredible place to photograph. I say all this because these reasons lead to MANY photographers and I generally dislike crowds.

I arrived to Mono Lake around 4 a.m. to watch the colors of dawn and see the Milky Way disappear and the shadows of the formations become visible. This image shows this to me without showing the sky. It shows the calm of the morning and the contrast of chaos in the background with the perfect stillness in the foreground.

Photography has the power to stop time and create emotion and this one simple scene does both for me and allows me to express this incredible experience I was fortunate to have through a single image.

Plus, I like that song:)

EE

VIEW ALL 10 IMAGES HERE

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Image Review – “Be Still My Soul”

Leave a Reply

