Report of NO SKIING

I’ve had the past two days off and I didn’t go skiing.  If you were to tell me two months ago that a big storm would come in on January 6-8 and I had the days off and I would NOT go skiing, I’d tell you that you were INSANE.  Well, it was the weather that was insane and not you. 

Snoqualmie Pass reported about 17 inches of rain in the two days and many other places received 10-20 inches.   This wiped away the 2-5 feet of new snow after New Year’s and closed the highways throught the Cascades for two days.  There was widespread flooding, washouts, avalanches and much MUCK everywhere. 

One photo of the climax avalanche at  Hyak, near Snoqualmie Pass summarizes the impact fairly well.

*note, this is not my photo

*note, this is not my photo

Leave a Reply

