Snoqualmie Pass-PCT

P1060764

Back up to Snoqualmie Pass in the rain!

I only had about 1/2 day to hike today so I went up to Snoqualmie Pass and hiked the now melted out PCT.  Not all of it, only about 7 miles round trip this time.  It was raining and drizzling most of the way up, with big drops falling 300 feet down from the tops of the giants.  The trail was muddy and still snowy in places and it was cold.  About 37-42 would be my guess based on how many clothes I was wearing.    I had the trail to myself and given the foggy conditions I felt even more removed.

I’ve hiked this trail many times now, and I love it for rainy days like today.  The trees are enormous, the fog and mist rolls through the pass and valleys and everything is evenly illuminated.  Perfect photography weather!  the two photos of the forest I have on my portfolio are from this trail last year and I think I took a few more like them today.  I don’t have much more to say about this hike as the photos sum it up well.

I do however want to keep hiking north sometime all the way to Stevens Pass or Canada and spend night after night on the trail.   This is an idea I’ve had for a while now and I really feel like taking a LONG walk in the woods sometime soon.  Stay posted!  Enjoy the photos:)

Leave a Reply

