Fish Lake for some snow!

Still no camera, so just words.  I went up to Fish Lake for my birthday to spend some time thinking and burning firewood.  There was a little snow on the ground near Salmon la Sac and by the time the tire tracks ended there was about 6 inches on the ground.  I kept driving a little further to a well liked spot, miles away from the nearest person.  The light snow had ended and the skies had begun to clear.  By night, it was 25 degrees with a half moon.  Brrrrr.  Luckily there is a lot of firewood there and I had enough beer to drink so all was good.

I’d never been to this area with any amount of snow and I was looking forward to it.  I’ve been there during green spring, colorful flowers in the summer, golds and ambers of the fall, now the white of the first snow.  It is such a beautiful place, so peaceful and a gateway to the wild.  Sometimes it is crowded, sometimes desolate.  Sometimes buggy, sometimes the air is still.  I love it there and I can’t wait to go back again.

The morning was overcast with a thin cirrus deck so sunrise was very brief.  The Cathedral and Mt. Daniels were briefly lit by the sun and looked like their tops were on fire.  Pretty dramatic against the dark blue morning skies.  I didn’t see any elk, although I heard them and saw there tracks roaming all over.  One of these times…..

Leave a Reply

