How did I get this shot??

I was out photographing the fall colors at a nearby park and came across this scene below. I’ve always wanted to photograph a leaf in mid-flight against a background of fall colors and yesterday I got my chance!

I know there are several photographers that follow this and I want to throw the question out and see if anyone can guess how I got this shot? The 2nd image is a zoom of 100%+ of the leaf. There was a tree directly above me and a slight breeze causing leaves to fall. Nothing was photoshopped (added or removed) and the only editing was to enhance the saturation a bit.

Camera settings: 50mm f/1.8 lens, f/2.5 @ 1/250 sec, ISO 400

I’ll post the answer in a day or so once you have a chance to weigh in. I’ll possibly send you a free image if you guess how!
EE

**added a few more**

18 thoughts on “How did I get this shot??

  1. Reblogged this on filmcamera999 and commented:
    ..dont know how you got the shot, but hey!…now i believe in synchronicity….i had the same thing happen to me last week…i was walking my dog in a local park….lots of leaves were falling….but for some odd reason, my eye fell on just one leaf….falling more slowly than all the others….! dont know why i focussed on just that one and not teh others…but there you go!

    Like

  2. Awsome shot! I don’t think i’ll be able to gues your method, so I’m not going to try… But I have been trying to get that shot myself since mid september. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. So this leaf was suspended by a single thread of silk and was dangling from a limb. I simply framed my shot, set to manual focus and turned the shooting to 7fps. I then clicked away knowing the leaf would come into the narrow depth of field at some point and that the silk would be invisible. Thus the “falling” leaf was not really falling at all and infact, there was another one right near here I could’ve shot as well. I’ll post another shot of this same leaf, different background soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

