Cable Mountain, East Rim Zion National Park

For my last night in Zion, I opted for a backpack trip. I was contemplating a longer trip but 1 night on the edge of the canyon was enough for me to leave Zion content. I only have a few images from the rim since I missed sunrise and the evenings are full of deep shadows. It’s more of a place to sit and enjoy the view, occasionally getting up to peer off the edge to scare yourself.

Cable Mountain played an important role in the History of Zion Canyon’s settlement and is worth visiting for that reason alone. It’s an easy hike in an uncrowded area of the Disneyland below. Once again, I’m not sure you can capture that “lump in your throat” feeling from being on the edge of a HUGE cliff!

The last 2 images were off my P&S. It has a fun panoramic mode and I had it handy for a nice blue and orange sunset:) A side not to this mini trip was that it took me 130 shots before I got one I liked. Not an easy place to shoot!

Enjoy,
EE

E
E

E
E

E
E

5 thoughts on “Cable Mountain, East Rim Zion National Park

Leave a Reply

