Upper Yosemite Falls Moonbow (attempt)

Part of my time in Yosemite lined up nicely with the full moon casting light at the right angle on Yosemite Falls.  When this happens, a “moonbow” can appear under longer exposures.  There are many sites out there that tell you where to go, when to go, the moon rise time, your window for shooting, blah blah blah.  I took a slightly different approach to shoot the falls and although I didn’t really see any great colors that night, it was a great to pre-visualize an image and then try to capture it, with try being the key word.

From my previous days of exploring, I knew of many vantage points to see the moonlight refracting through the mist of Yosemite Falls and hoped to catch a shot.  I headed out around 7:30pm and got to my first location and locked the focus in.  I walked around to all the locations that night, following the arc of the moonlight, but never got a full moonbow shot.  So why not?

In certain places there were other photographers out shooting with similar hopes as I had.  I’m uncertain if anyone got the shot they were looking for off the upper falls.  I do know Lower Yosemite Falls had a gorgeous moonbow during that moon, but that’s not what I wanted to shoot.  There were 50,000 other photographers there so if you want to see a shot of that one I’m sure it’s out there.  I was looking for the shot of only Upper Yosemite Falls because of the beautiful wall it cascades over.  It was my scene:)  As for the moonbow not appearing, I think it was due to the wind carrying the mist in the wrong direction!  Instead, it swirled from left to right and in the end it made for a beautiful curved waterfall.  Something your eyes can’t see:)  The other image is the best shot of the moonbow I captured.

No worries, I’ll be back to that place sometime and I wouldn’t trade my experience for anything.  EE

4 thoughts on “Upper Yosemite Falls Moonbow (attempt)

  1. Wow. 50 000 photographers? You are exaggerating just a little, yes?
    I love the scene you chose – the wall and the cascade with the hint of colouration is lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

