Waterwheel Falls, Yosemite National Park

Copy of EE2_3639elow-002

I took a bit of time for myself the past 2 weeks while going through a difficult time with my family.  I’m happy to report that my brother is strong, optimistic and recovering from his hospitalization.  My family and I couldn’t be happier for getting through this trying time.  Thank you all who offered support and prayers:)

Copy of EE2_3772elow-004

As for this post, I’m still sifting through images from my time in Yosemite National Park.  I was fortunate to have a few days to spend in the lesser known section of the park, the wilderness.  I saw an intriguing name on the map, Waterwheel Falls, and knowing the spring run-off was in full effect I chose this as my destination for 4 nights of backpacking.

Copy of EE2_3656eelow-003

I ended up getting sick on my hike in and didn’t have the best of times.  It was 8 miles of beautiful country and mostly downhill.  This would prove to be a difficult return trip with zero energy.  I located a great spot to camp and photographed the falls in the evening and again in the morning.  It was immediately after breakfast I decided to abort my backpacking adventure.  With minimal energy and a complete loss of appetite my hiking was extremely slow and I even stopped for a nap after 1 mile.

Copy of EE2_3897elow-006

This slow pace did afford me ample photography time though and I’m grateful for that.  Plus, all the day hikers had already returned to camp and the trail head, leaving an empty trail through Yosemite.  I’ll take that anytime!  Most of these images are from my first glance through my pile and I’ll do another post soon of more images of the falls itself.  It was truly spectacular country and a great way to end my time in Yosemite National Park.  I should have part 2 up in a few days.

Thanks for looking, reading and commenting.  You can also follow along on Instagram and Facebook at ericephoto.  EE

Copy of EE2_3968elow-007

9 thoughts on “Waterwheel Falls, Yosemite National Park

  1. Glad things are looking up… or wherever you look to. Waterwheel…. there are so many places that I get to live through others pics. Keep em coming and keep looking inward… with one eye on yourself and the other on family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

