A New Photography Project: 100 Steps From Home

Art is not to be found by touring to Egypt, China, or Peru; if you cannot find it at your own door, you will never find it. – Emerson

After The Rain

This is a topic that has been on my mind for some time.  Photography is flooded with images from far away places and many think that you need to visit distant and exotic lands to create images.  Well, until you do go to those places, don’t pass up the opportunity to photograph and observe the beauty that is so close to home.  I guarantee that if you look around your house, there are beautiful scenes to capture.  This is true no matter where you live, whether in a city or a cabin in the woods or on the beach.

I’ll be pursuing this project further over the coming months and I made one image this morning that was 2 steps from my front door.  It rained this morning and patches of blue sky were breaking through.  The wind has blown many leaves off the aspens and this one caught my eye.  I’ll write another post with several images together as I find them:)

Happy exploring!

EE

11 thoughts on “A New Photography Project: 100 Steps From Home

  1. Hi Eric,
    really a nice shot. I agree in what you said about finding beauty in our backyard. I was always very impressed about the pictures I see from professional landscape photographers. But unfortunately I´m living in Germany and impressive landscapes are seldom and hard to find here. On the other side I love nature and being outside as well as photographing. So what you said above is exactly what iI´m trying do accomplish. You can see some of the results at http://www.carstenmeyerphotography.com. By the way, your blog played a great role when I decided to start my own blog. Your writings and your pictures inspired me a lot and helped me keeping my motivation. So thanks for your work 🙂

    Like

  2. So true. I think this whenever I’m coming into or out of the building I live in. It’s the scene I see the most of, notice the most change in, am often inspired by, but it’s been incredibly rare that I’ve actually pulled out my camera. You gave me something to think about. Thanks. And lovely shot!

    Like

  3. If anything, blogs like Humans of New York (which if you haven’t checked out, you should!) have taught me art can be found right on your doorstep. You don’t have to go far to see something beautiful. But you can go far too if you wish.

    Like

    • Amelie, Thanks and I definitely have! I absolutely love that project and it is inspiring in so many ways! You should check out the interview he did with Chase Jarvis, you can find it on Youtube. Beauty is truly everywhere and is enjoyable to find and capture:) Thanks again, Eric

      Like

Leave a Reply

