Top 10 of 2015: 3

Three

Park City, UT

I spend many days of the summer hiking the trails throughout Park City and most images aren’t planned.  I generally have an idea where I want to go based on the conditions of the day, perhaps a view that could look good with the given weather or exploring a new trail.  One particular day last summer I was hiking near the Silver King Mine in Park City when a thunderstorm popped up and the rain quickly forced me to seek shelter inside the abandoned mine.  I’d explored this building a few times before without a camera but now I was there while waiting out the storm, camera in hand.  I began looking around at the rusted machinery and the pieces of Park City’s history left behind, noticing how the rain saturated some of the exposed steel and fading paint.  Heavy rain and hail beat down on the tin roof of the 5-story structure, water dripped through the leaking roof and the place came alive with colors and sound.

Over the next hour, I wandered the building and began photographing various pieces of this history.  The light was a mix of warm daylight, cool shade, reflections and deep shadows.  All these pieces began to form a thought in my mind of what I thought the images could look like once processed.  I began focusing on forms and compositions, quickly finding subject after subject to capture.  This process repeated a few other hikes to various locations around Park City over the summer.

I didn’t think much of my initial images, as they didn’t fit my normal subject matter of the natural world.  I kept coming back to them though and found they told more of a story and contained more than I initially saw with my eyes.  I began editing the photos without restricting myself to what the scene actually looked like.  Colors were changed, saturation and tones changed, and some perspectives were altered.  One thing I didn’t do with the images is remove or add anything that wasn’t physically already there.  Color is an interesting aspect of photography in how it is often confused with light.  Color is completely subjective since the human eye sees a small spectrum of wavelengths of light.  Objects appear a certain color because of how we perceive the light with our eyes, not because the light is a certain color.  With this in mind, color in photography becomes a complete choice of the photographer as to how it’s presented.  Camera’s do an amazing job at recording information of light and detail, which the resulting digital file can then be interpreted by the photographer.

This series of images is an ongoing project with no specific time frame.  Finding this subject and exploring the photos with no creative barriers has opened my eyes to more scenes around me in everyday life.  I now find myself wondering how everyday scenes appear to others.  How does someone else see leaves covering a grassy yard?  A tree in the fog at sunrise?  A river in the evening?  A rainy day?  The possibilities are endless but one thing remains constant:  We all see differently.  It is for this simple reason that the experience of finding, creating and trying to understand these images has been a top experience for me from 2015.

Go explore and look beyond the obvious:)

EE

Full Gallery of Images Here

4 thoughts on “Top 10 of 2015: 3

Leave a Reply

