North Coyote Buttes: The Wave

Ice & Shadow

Late in 2016 I had a chance to go to “The Wave” in Northern Arizona.  Permits can be hard to get but I think I had some luck on my side and drew a permit on my first attempt.  I didn’t make many images from this trip but I did take a lot of phone pics!  The Wave is a highly sought after location for tourists and landscape photographers because of the incredible formation of sandstone.  Only 20 permits per day are allotted to keep the impact to a minimum and to ensure a better experience for those who are there.  You’ll appreciate the lack of crowds if you do get lucky and get a permit.

Frozen Puzzle

Because of its popularity, the wave has been photographed many times.  There are some incredible images of it and you can google it to see for yourself.  Its a treat to the eyes but there’s far more to see than just the actual wave itself.  WAY more.  Exploring around this incredible area will lead you to some unusual formations of sandstone, but I won’t get into that here.  I only have some phone pics of these other places.  Part of my goal as a photographer is to create images that are unique to me.  I’m also working on creating images that are difficult, if not impossible, to recreate.  This is easier said than done, especially in a place that has been photographed a million times.

Snow & Stripes

I’ll keep this post short and save my thoughts on creating distinguishable work for a more in-depth post.  For now, here’s a few images from The Wave.  Go see this place for yourself if you get the chance and be sure to explore the area!

Thanks for reading,

EE

Fire & Ice

2 thoughts on “North Coyote Buttes: The Wave

Leave a Reply

